FR44 insurance in Virginia Beach is available from your insurance company. It is required to prove financial responsibility, if you are ever convicted of DUI or DWI. The FR44 will provide you with the minimum requirement of insurance. In Virginia, all drivers have to carry liability insurance on their motor vehicles. If you are convicted of DUI in Virginia Beach, your FR44 insurance will prove that you are covered.
Once you have been convicted of DUI, your auto insurance rates are automatically increased. This lasts for at least 5 years. Besides the penalties, fines, and fees you have to pay with the conviction, you will have the added expense of the FR44.
Why Do You Need FR44?
If you are convicted of driving under the influence, you will have to get an FR44. But that’s not all. There are other reasons to get one of these insurance policies.
If you have had your driver’s license suspended, and are caught driving, you will be required to get an FR44. In addition, juveniles can be required to get this policy if they are caught driving with a suspended license. This is usually in the case of the license being suspended due to juvenile court finding them “not innocent” in a case.
The minimum coverage you can carry on an FR44 insurance policy in Virginia Beach is a 50/100/40 policy. This means that your policy must carry $50,000 for causing injury or death to one person and $100,000 for causing injury or death to more than one person. The third number is $40 to cover property damage.
Fees and Considerations
If you are convicted of a DUI or other alcohol-related crime, your driver’s license may be suspended for a period of time. Then, you will have to have an FR44 in order to get your driver’s license again. Your insurance company can get a quote for you. Usually the fee for the FR44 is added to your insurance bill. You will be issued a new Virginia Beach ID card on the same day you get your FR44 insurance.